Urbansync’s Weblog

Reality Tagging / Found Sounds / Artscience

Day3 – Part III: Re-using the activity taxonomy of Matthias

with 5 comments

Today I finished the schedule for the experimental sessions. Due to the limits in battery power I will perform 4h-sessions. 2-3 each day. In order to organize these sessions beyond the matter of “random walks” I checked printed material for tourists, the web, inhabitants opinons and I will ask other tourists about their highlights when interfacing Porto. For sure it wont be just a matter of “touristic exploration”. The activity taxonomy developed by my student Matthias Käppler is also a guide to organize urban life and my experiments in general. A nice re-use of his diploma thesis about an Google Android app he recently finished.

Matthias Käppler

Captchr: Towards Context-Aware Exchange
of Situated Social Media in Mobile Environments
Diploma Thesis

German Research Center for AI (Supervised by Baumann / Dengel)

Written by urbansync

October 8, 2008 at 1:41 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was wondering whether Matthias’ thesis is in English? It would be interesting to read as I am about to leave for New Zealand to research locative media in mobile environments. I must say that ‘Captchr’ is a bit of a mouthful! Last week I was fighting with ‘Pwnage’.

    Philip Dean

    October 8, 2008 at 4:13 pm

  2. I just arrived at the illmtalhotel near weimar, and also near Jena, where I have to give tomorrow a presentation in a session of the german sociological association’s section “sociology of medicine”, actually it is on the smartband’s potentiality for social survey applications. I was eager to read on urbansync’s proceeding, so I paid 29 Euro for wifi access, 60 min would cost 8 Euros, but I know, that in the next days total 4 hour internet access would not suffice, so …
    Its interesting to learn that stephan is planning some self-experimentation, tomorrow I will make some proposals..
    You know, true self-experimenting scientists take (small) portions of poisons, lock themselves together with flies in a transformation box, or assimilate indigenous identity…

    Jorgos

    jorgos

    October 8, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  3. Hi Philip , the thesis is in english!
    You should ask Matthias to get a copy, just
    check his website to contact him!
    matthiaskaeppler(dot)de

    Go ahead!

    urbansync

    October 9, 2008 at 9:10 am

  4. Hi Jorgos,

    I am poisoned! Yesterday I managed to do the first 4hour session and then I locked myself for 3hours in the hotel to validate data … I dont know WTF I am doing here … save rocket science!

    urbansync

    October 9, 2008 at 9:11 am

  5. Phillip,

    glad to hear you’re interested in my work. I have put the thesis on my website: http://matthiaskaeppler.de/files/thesis.pdf

    Best,
    Matthias

    Matthias

    October 9, 2008 at 1:10 pm


Leave a Reply

