Urbansync’s Weblog

Reality Tagging / Found Sounds / Artscience

Day2 – Part II: Preparing nerdy slides for Future Places

with 2 comments

Here you can see my little portable research lab. The first picture shows the sensor bank for real-world context recording. On the left a digital voice recorder which is connected to the audio-out of a custom electro-smog scanner. In this way I am able to record activities in the GHz range (GSM, WiFi, Bluetooth). The ZOOM H2 is a high quality digital audio recorder allowing me to record urban sound at 44.1 kHz, 16bit, CD quality. The most unusual and D.I.Y-stlye device is the smartband provided by Georgios Papastefanou. It has 10 channels for recording context data of different means and storing digitized versions to the internal SD card. The most interesting for me is the skin conductancy and puls volume. Last but not least a standard GPS data logger recording my trails when interfacing with Porto.

If you think this is not nerdy enough check on  the second picture my “back-office”. Downloading data and making backups is essential for the mission. Therefore I have 2 laptops, a portable 250GB harddrive, DVDs and several USB-port cables with me. The biggest nightmare is the proper charging of the AA, AAA and 9V block akkus.

Anyway, a researcher has to do what a researcher has to do!

Written by urbansync

October 7, 2008 at 12:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Holy cow, look at all these gadgets! I think you may want to consult the Vault Dweller’s Survival Guide first before heading out:

    Remember: T.I.M.E. and P.A.T.I.E.N.C.E.!

    Matthias

    October 8, 2008 at 1:46 pm

  2. hi matthias,

    you name it … damn it’s really tough … but somehow I like it: the aesthetics of nerdism

    best and thanks for advice 🙂

    urbansync

    October 8, 2008 at 1:55 pm


Leave a Reply

